The Bury Farmers Club enjoys a rich history and has always been a prominent hub within Bury St Edmunds.
Built in the 14th Century, the building that now houses the Club is impressive both in terms of its architecture and ownership. Many of the medieval features remain, including the woodwork and ornamentation, which gives each room its own unique character. Ownership records date back to 1425, 1456 and 1479, which saw persons connected to the leading clothiers in Bury St Edmunds residing here. This house, with its 17 hearths, was the town house of the Gage family of Hengrave Hall from 1674, and possibly earlier.
Subsequent occupiers included John Deck in 1823, a prominent auctioneer who led the reform of the Club by dividing the house into smaller units, which are now numbers 9, 10 and 11 Northgate Street.
From Baronets, MPs, and solicitors to the humble Yeoman, there is no doubt our strong heritage and use of the Number 10 has helped shape the Bury St Edmunds Farmers Club we see today.